Sarusuberi: Miss Hokusai

To be honest, I have no idea anymore how this movie ended up on my plan to watch list, nor did I remember anything about the plot when I started to watch it. However now that I watched it I could organize it as a historical slice of life movie about an artist. With that in mind if you ever decide to watch Sarusuberi: Miss Hokusai, do not expect much action or surprises, the story as almost as natural as can be. However what do expect is one and a half hours of calm enjoyment of calm things seasoned with a bit of bittersweet moments. The art is really fine and refreshingly non CGI like. Maybe the BGM could be criticized for being too modern, otherwise the movie and its story is really fine, but nothing extraordinary.

With that in mind, I decided to rate Sarusuberi: Miss Hokusai a 7/10

Leave a comment

Filed under Movie, Progress Report, Sarusuberi: Miss Hokusai

Leave a Reply

